GOP-heavy committees prepare to draw FL districts that will shape decade of elections

New electoral districts for state, federal races in hands of 48 Republicans, 26 Democrats

By: - September 3, 2021 3:53 pm

Credit: Stephen Maturen/Getty Images

The state lawmakers who will draw new electoral districts that will shape Florida elections in 2022 and beyond were announced Friday.

The job of carving Florida into 120 state House districts, 40 Senate districts and 28 congressional districts will begin as early as next month. The process, called apportionment or redistricting, is undertaken every 10 years following each new Census.

Forty Republicans and 22 Democrats will decide how to parse districts in the Florida House of Representatives, led by two Republican chairmen and four Republican subcommittee chairs.

In the Senate, eight Republicans and four Democrats are appointed to reapportion districts for the state Senate.

Electoral districts for state seats and for congressional seats — including a 28th seat added to Florida’s roster due to an increase in population — must be redrawn and approved in time for 2022 primary elections and the fall general election.

In key positions are Republican senators Ray Rodrigues of Lee County and Doug Broxson, representing northwest Florida. They are chair and vice chair of the Senate’s overall reapportionment committee.

Chairing the Senate subcommittee on congressional reapportionment is Republican Jennifer Bradley, who represents a mostly rural swath of north Florida counties and whose husband is former Senate Appropriations Chairman Rob Bradley.

Danny Burgess, who represents parts of Hillsborough, Pasco and Polk, will chair the Senate subcommittee on legislative reapportionment.

The Democrats on the committees are Sen. Randolph Bracy of Orange County, Sen. Audrey Gibson of Duval County, Sen. Darryl Rouson, who represents parts of Hillsborough and Pinellas counties, and Sen. Linda Stewart of Orange County.

In the House, Republican representatives Tom Leek of Volusia County and Randy Fine of Brevard County are named chair and vice chair of the overall redistricting committee.

Chairing the subcommittees on congressional reapportionment and state reapportionment are Republicans Cord Byrd, representing Nassau County and part of Duval; Will Robinson, representing Manatee and Sarasota; Tyler Sirois of Brevard County, and Kaylee Tuck, representing Glades, Highlands, Okeechobee and part of St. Lucie.

Senior Democrats on the House committees and subcommittees include representatives Fentrice Driskell of Hillsborough County, Joe Geller of Broward and Dade counties, Evan Jenne of Broward County, and Allison Tant of Leon County.

The House and Senate convene in pre-session committee meetings on Sept. 20, with additional committee weeks set for October. The regular session of the 2022 Legislature begins Jan. 11.

In Florida, primary elections are set for Aug. 23 and the general election for Nov. 8.

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

Laura Cassels
Laura Cassels

Laura Cassels is a reporter, former statehouse bureau chief, and former city editor. She is a classical pianist, a Florida State University graduate and proud alum of the Florida Flambeau, an independent college newspaper. Contact her at [email protected]