Nikki Fried’s PC announces support for 20 pro-choice women on the ballot in Florida

By: - October 17, 2022 12:38 pm

Agriculture Commissioner Nikki Fried speaks at a press conference on Oct. 10, 2022. Credit: Screenshot/Florida Channel

“Won’t Back Down,” Nikki Fried’s recently created political committee designed to put a constitutional amendment to codify abortion rights on the 2024 ballot, has announced a list of 20 female pro-choice candidates running on state and local ballots in Florida next month.

“When I ran in 2018, I made a promise that I would never back down from a fight,” Fried said in a statement. “Over the last 4 years, I’ve been doing exactly that — defending our rights and fighting for our freedoms. Won’t Back Down will work tirelessly to are competitive and successful.” ensure that the next line of qualified candidates aren’t left behind, and that they have the organizational support willing to step up and make sure that they

“Won’t Back Down” was formed last month. It had $35,000 in its coffers as of Oct. 7, according to the Florida Division of Elections. Florida Consumers First, another political committee associated with Fried, has contributed $25,000 to the effort.

Despite her loss in the Florida gubernatorial primary in August to Charlie Crist, Fried remains a major player in the Florida Democratic Party. Her election as Agriculture Commissioner in 2018 remains the lone statewide victory for Democrats over the past decade.

Gov. Ron DeSantis signed legislation this year banning a woman’s right to an abortion after 15 weeks of pregnancy earlier this year, without exceptions for rape, incest, or human trafficking. It is being legally challenged by the ACLU, Planned Parenthood, abortion providers, and the Center for Reproductive Rights, citing a 1980 state constitutional amendment guaranteeing a right to privacy.

Below is the list of twenty federal, statewide and local candidates that “Won’t Back Down” are backing:

Congresswoman Val Demings – U.S. Senate
Aramis Ayala – FL Attorney General
Naomi Blemur – FL Commissioner of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Sen. Loranne Ausley – State Senate Dist. 3
Sen. Janet Cruz – State Senate Dist. 14
Eunic Ortiz – State Senate Dist. 18
Raquel Pacheco – State Senate Dist. 36
Janelle Perez – State Senate Dist. 38
Rep. Kristen Arrington – State House Dist. 46
Lindsay Cross – State House Dist. 60
Janet Varnell Warwick– State House Dist. 61
Rep. Michele Rayner – State House Dist. 62
Rep. Kelly Skidmore – State House Dist. 92
Hillary Cassel – State House Dist. 101
Rep. Marie Woodson – State House Dist. 105
Donna Deegan – Mayor, Jacksonville
Allison Miller – State Attorney, 6th Judicial Circuit
Donna Korn – Broward School Board, Seat 8
Yvette DuBose – Ft. Lauderdale City Commission, Dist. 3
Michelle McGovern – Palm Beach County Commission, Dist. 6

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

Mitch Perry
Mitch Perry

Mitch Perry has covered politics and government in Florida for more than two decades. Most recently he is the former politics reporter for Bay News 9. He has also worked at Florida Politics, Creative Loafing and WMNF Radio in Tampa. He was also part of the original staff when the Florida Phoenix was created in 2018.