The Phoenix Flyer

Gov. DeSantis extends Hurricane Dorian emergency in 12 Florida counties

By: - December 26, 2019 4:20 pm

Jared Moskowitz, Florida’s outgoing director of emergency management, stands to the far right of Gov. Ron DeSantis during a press briefing at the state’s emergency response center on Sept. 5, 2019. Credit: governor’s office

Gov. Ron DeSantis has issued a 60-day extension of the state of emergency he ordered in response to Hurricane Dorian, which spared Florida a direct hit during late summer but still inflicted damage here.

In an executive order signed last week, the governor told the Florida Division of Emergency Management to continue coordinating repairs and recovery in Brevard, Duval, Flagler, Indian River, Martin, Nassau, Osceola, Palm Beach, Putnam, Seminole, St. Johns, and St. Lucie counties.

“[T]he effects of Hurricane Dorian pose a continuing threat to the health, safety, and welfare of the State of Florida and its residents,” DeSantis wrote.

The governor first declared the state of emergency on Aug. 28, covering 26 counties, as Dorian approached the Florida coast. The next day, he expanded the order to cover the entire state.

The storm inflicted its worst punishments upon the Bahamas, but Florida still suffered storm surge, wind, rain, and associated power losses along the East Coast.

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

Michael Moline
Michael Moline

Michael Moline has covered politics and the legal system for more than 30 years. He is a former managing editor of the San Francisco Daily Journal and former assistant managing editor of The National Law Journal.